Scroll to the main content
dataCycle Detailseite

Quarry in St. Margarethen

St. Margarethen/Bgld.

mainly clear

13° / 22°

3 %
Wind speed
10 km/h
  • Tuesdayclear

    15° / 25°

  • Wednesdayclear

    14° / 25°

  • Thursdayclear

    14° / 25°

Today, the quarry in St Margarethen is one of the most beautiful and imposing open-air arenas in Europe, which under the Esterházy Family Private Foundation has been subject to a comprehensive development of its festival complex since 2006.

In the first half of the seventeenth century, the domain of Eisenstadt was transferred to Count Nicholas (Miklós) Esterházy (1583-1645). Thus, the township of St. Margarethen, which belonged to Eisenstadt, was part of the land to be administered, and the quarry located there provided material for a variety of building projects. Indeed, sandstone had already been used ever since the Gothic era – for instance to build St Stephen’s Cathedral in Vienna, but also for its restoration, which still continues today; furthermore, St Margarethen sandstone was used for the development of the Vienna Ringstrasse buildings.
In 1959, Karl Prantl initiated the “Symposium of European Sculptors”, and until 1977 it came to be the setting and inspiration for their works of stone. The numerous stone sculptures exhibited in the quarry have transformed the terrain around the Roman quarry into a unique landscape. And not least of its fascinations is its breathtaking panorama, which stretches from Eisenstadt, over the Leithagebirge mountains and Lake Neusiedl to Rust and into the Pannonian plain of Hungary.

Burgenland Card
Service Partner | 01.05.2023 - 31.10.2023

Free guided tour of the St. Margarethen quarry with the Burgenland Card.


May to June & September to October: Sat-Sun & holidays at 10:00 am and 3:30 pm July to August: daily at 10:00 am.

Duration: 1 hour

Fee without Burgenland Card: € 12,-