Once upon a time a flour mill rattled along the Tauscherbach.
The mill was first built in 1498. It had to give way to flames and survived wars. In the 18th century it was acquired by Petrus Schuh, and the family operated the mill as a grain mill until 1970. In 2009, the vacant building was purchased by the market town of Schattendorf and renovated to be relaunched in 2015 as an attractive, charming cultural and event center.
The Schuhmühle is one of the last historic mills in Burgenland.
It is a museum, culture and communication house. Attractively and professionally equipped rooms are made available for a wide variety of events.
High-quality cultural and educational programs take place throughout the year. These includes readings, concerts, exhibitions and theater performances as well as museum tours, gourmet seminars, afternoon coffee in the "Treffpunkt Mühle" or wedding ceremonies under the mill beams.
With the mill's own "Mühlenakademie", an innovative facility for further education has been created.
Mascot "Sebastian, the "Mühlengeisterchen" invites the youngest guests to the children's program almost all year round.
The Schuhmühle houses a permanent exhibition entitled "The Shots of Schattendorf." It is the prelude or the final chord for excursions and round trips to the Rosalia-Kogelberg Nature Park or to cultural sites in neighboring Hungary. In the own vinotheque and the well-stocked mill store the guests are entertained on request and provided with delicacies and souvenirs from the region.