Scroll to the main content
dataCycle Detailseite

Black cross

Draßburg

The cross is located on the hill above the cemetery.

mainly clear
today

18° / 29°

Cloudiness
3 %
Wind speed
5 km/h
  • Sundaymainly clear

    17° / 30°

  • Mondayclear

    18° / 33°

  • Tuesdaymainly clear

    19° / 33°

Konrad Patzenhofer, owner of the sugar factory in Siegendorf and the castle of Draßburg, had the high iron cross erected in 1898 on the hill above the cemetery in memory of the murder of Empress Elisabeth. The pedestal bears the inscription: Dedicated to the memory of our beloved Empress Elisabeth in deep mourning by Mathilde and Conrad Patzenhofer 1891. It is in German, Croatian and Hungarian script.

The Black Cross is open all year round and can be visited at any time!

Discover Burgenland on Social Media